Recent Match Outline – Punjab Kings vs Sunrisers 14th Match 2021


Abdul Samad missed out with a hamstring injury

Punjab Kings chose to bat vs Sunrisers Hyderabad

KL Rahul, the Punjab Kings captain, chose to bat on a pitch he expected to slow down in the second one innings. Still trying to determine their best XI, the Kings made three changes from their final match. Moises Henriques and Fabian Allen, both playing their first games for the franchise, replaced the Australian pace duo of Jhye Richardson and Riley Meredith. M Ashwin, meantime, replaced Jalaj Saxena.

After botching three successive chases, the Sunrisers Hyderabad will once again have to bat second. On the other hand, they’re going to be bolstered by the inclusion of Kane Williamson, who has retrieved from his elbow niggle. That meant there used to be no place for Mujeeb Ur Rahman. The Sunrisers also brought in Kedar Jadhav and Siddarth Kaul for Manish Pandey and Abdul Samad (hamstring injury) respectively.

After playing three games every, both teams are languishing at the behind of the points table. The Kings have one win, the Sunrisers none.

Punjab Kings 1 KL Rahul (capt & wk), 2 Mayank Agarwal, 3 Chris Gayle, 4 Deepak Hooda, 5 Nicholas Pooran, 6 Shahrukh Khan, 7 Moises Henriques, 8 Fabian Allen, 9 Mohammed Shami, 10 M Ashwin, 11 Arshdeep Singh

Sunrisers Hyderabad 1 David Warner (capt), 2 Jonny Bairstow (wk), 3 Virat Singh, 4 Kane Williamson, 5 Kedar Jadhav, 6 Vijay Shankar, 7 Abhishek Sharma, 8 Rashid Khan, 9 Bhuvneshwar Kumar, 10 Siddarth Kaul, 11 Khaleel Ahmed

Hemant Brar is a sub-editor at ESPNcricinfo

Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.